Built in 1827, this property is an historian's dream. Major John Wilcox built this property out of the flood banks of the Mississippi. There is a river view from every window. He maintained Ft. Edwards in 1814. When he died, his widow married Thomas Sharp, famous for his part in the murder of Joseph and Hiram Smith in 1844.
The house has been renovated from a boat club used for weddings and gatherings in the late 1900s. It has been a private residence for 17 years and boasts one of the best views of the Ole Miss. The house comes with 5 lots and a 1 bedroom/1 bath granny flat over a 3-car garage. Every season is beautiful here and the sunsets are better than Key West.
The Olde Stone House has been under renovation since 2000. Starting with the windows, then roof, new plumbing and electric all to bring it up to code. In 2002 the kitchen was upgraded and has a gas insert fireplace. By 2004, 3 bedrooms had been added upstairs and a 3/4 bath with a custom open sitdown shower featuring an Italian mosaic and custom cabinetry. New floors and ceiling. 2010 saw the addition of the river deck and sun room with the in-ground garden. We also built the cement river wall. 2012 we put in the 3-car garage with 1- bedroom, 3/4 bath apartment above with private patio and balcony. In in 2015, we removed all old roof on house and put on new shingle roof as well as the garage roof.
Check out this historical drone video on youtube which features the house from the river: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4oczlYkstcU